Northeastern Mindanao

by G. Lacsa

The Caraga Administrative Region

The Caraga Administrative Region, designated as Region XIII, is located in the northeastern part of Mindanao, Philippines, and is composed of five provinces: Agusan del Norte, Agusan del Sur, Surigao del Norte, Surigao del Sur, and Dinagat Islands. Its regional capital in Butuan City, Caraga.

The region is characterized by its stunning coastline, verdant mountains, and diverse flora and fauna. is known for its rich cultural heritage and natural resources.

The area has a strong connection to its indigenous roots, with several groups such as the Mamanwas, Manobos, Higaonons, and the Surigaonon maintaining their traditional way of life. This cultural tapestry is showcased in the region’s festivals, crafts, music, and dances, adding to the vibrant and diverse identity of Caraga.

Economically, Caraga is a significant contributor to the Philippines’ mining industry, thanks to its abundant mineral reserves. Agriculture also plays a crucial role in the region’s economy, with vast plantations and farms yielding a variety of crops such as rice, corn, abaca, and coconut.

Tourism is an emerging industry in Caraga, drawing visitors with its stunning natural attractions. The region boasts picturesque beaches, crystal-clear waters, and lush forests, offering opportunities for eco-adventure, diving, and beachcombing.

In summary, the Caraga Administrative Region is a captivating blend of culture, natural beauty, and economic significance, making it an intriguing destination for both local and international travelers.

Don’t forget to have the right supplies before traveling. Read our blog: What Should You Buy Before Travelling? – Philippine Tourism and Statistics (

by Van
by Sezzy On

Leave a Reply

Translate »
Scroll to Top