Southwestern Tagalog Region

The Luzon Island Group’s Archipelago

The Southwestern Tagalog Region, also known as MIMAROPA, designated Region 4-B, is an administrative region in the Philippines located in the island of Luzon.

MIMAROPA stands for Mindoro, Marinduque, Romblon, and Palawan, which are the main islands and provinces that constitute this region.

This region is known for its stunning natural landmarks, including the world-renowned Puerto Princesa Subterranean River National Park, the pristine white beaches of Palawan, and the diverse marine life surrounding the islands.

Palawan is also known for El Nido: see our blog El Nido vs Boracay: – Philippine Tourism and Statistics (

The Southwestern Tagalog Region is also rich in cultural heritage, with influences from indigenous groups and Spanish colonial history evident in the local traditions, cuisine, and architecture.

The region’s economy is primarily driven by agriculture, fishing, and tourism, with a burgeoning ecotourism industry attracting visitors from around the globe. Additionally, the vibrant arts and crafts scene in the Southwestern Tagalog Region showcases the exceptional talent of local artisans, producing intricately woven mats, pottery, and traditional musical instruments.

With its breathtaking landscapes, rich cultural tapestry, and warm hospitality, the Southwestern Tagalog Region offers a captivating experience for travelers seeking to explore the Philippines’ natural and cultural wonders.

If you forgot to purchase the necessities: don’t forget to read our blog: What Should You Buy Before Travelling? – Philippine Tourism and Statistics (

by Romal Daurte

by Bobby McGee Lee
by Ayan Abueva

Leave a Reply

Translate »
Scroll to Top