Travelling to Central Visayas

Cebu City by Samuel Razonable

The Center of Visayas. Cebu City, Whale Sharks, Tarsiers, and the Chocolate Hills of Bohol.

Central Visayas, also known as Region VII, is one of the administrative regions of the Philippines. It is located in the central part of the Visayas island group and comprises four provinces: Bohol, Cebu, Negros Oriental, and Siquijor. This region is renowned for its stunning natural landscapes, rich cultural heritage, and vibrant festivals.

Cebu, the regional center and the most developed province, is a bustling metropolis that also boasts picturesque beaches and historical landmarks such as Magellan’s Cross and the Basilica Minore del Santo Niño. Travel to Oslob and swim with the whale sharks.

Bohol is famous for its unique geological formations, including the Chocolate Hills, as well as its centuries-old churches and the adorable tarsiers.

Negros Oriental offers a serene escape with its gentle coastlines and the captivating marine life around Apo Island.

Meanwhile, Siquijor is celebrated for its mystic charm, pristine beaches, and enchanting waterfalls.

The region is a melting pot of traditions, evident in its colorful fiestas and lively celebrations. Sinulog Festival in Cebu, Sandugo Festival in Bohol, and Buglasan Festival in Negros Oriental are just a few examples of the vibrant cultural events that showcase the region’s dynamism and history.

With its diverse offerings, Central Visayas is a captivating destination that appeals to both nature lovers and cultural enthusiasts, making it a must-visit for anyone exploring the Philippines.

Don’t forget to have the right supplies before traveling. Read our blog: What Should You Buy Before Travelling? – Philippine Tourism and Statistics (

by Ze Frank

Leave a Reply

Translate »
Scroll to Top